This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Rice Dream New Label "gluten Free"

gffamily

gffamily Rookie

Hi. This is my first time on the forum, although I have been coming here often since my daughter was diagnosed with gluten sensitivity last year.

What prompted me to post was a recent experience with Rice Dream rice milk. I have stayed away from it because of the indication on the label that it contains trace amounts of gluten. Last week I was at the store and they were out of the brand I usually buy. I noticed the new packaging for the Rice Dream (it says "organic" now), and I thought maybe they had a new formula so I thought I'd read the package. The note about containing trace amounts of gluten was gone, and now the box says "Gluten Free" on the back! I was happy to have another option, and it was on sale so I bought some. I have been giving it to my daughter for the past few days, and she got her old symptoms back! I called the company and spoke to someone in customer relations who told me that in fact they HAVE NOT changed their formula, they just have determined through their testing that they can label it gluten free now. I guess having 20ppm of gluten technically meets the standard for the label, but it just feels like I can't trust the labels now.

I am very frustrated about this, and just wanted to pass on my experience to try to save someone else from getting sick.

Pam

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

burdee Enthusiast